News & Events

Friday, October 29, 2021

 

Tuesday, September 28, 2021

Students can now receive direct UVA credit for Global Studies courses taken in Siena, Italy.

Tuesday, September 14, 2021

Headline: For some Afghan women, the U.S. and the Taliban are a problem.

Thursday, August 19, 2021

Global Studies and the Department of Spanish, Italian, and Portuguese are jointly hosting Mauricio as part of the University's Rising Scholar program.  

Saturday, August 14, 2021

"Despite all the helplessness and despair that I've been feeling, I also am just really impressed with how much the diaspora has been mobilizing in this moment."

Friday, May 28, 2021

Read Prof. Zeweri's article for the Middle East Research and Information Project about "United States of Al" - Hollywood's attempt at the first mainstream Afghan character. 

Thursday, May 20, 2021

Prof. Crisman will present “Dakotah Displacement & Cultural Memory: Designing the Sisseton Wahpeton Oyate Cultural Center,” at conference hosted by Environmental Design Research Association.

Wednesday, May 12, 2021

As featured on UVAToday: Mithra Dhinakaran (GSSJ), Garvey Goulbourne (GDS), and Erica Kem (GPH) will collaborate with graduate mentors on Double Hoo Research projects. 

Tuesday, May 11, 2021

Prof. Helena Zeweri will be offering three new courses this Fall for Global Studies students. 

Friday, April 30, 2021

Tune in as Pete Furia, Director for the GSSJ track, sits down virtually with alum Mel Borja to discuss Mel's roles within the Office of Senator Kaine and the Office of Governor Northam.

Thursday, April 29, 2021

Prof. Crisman was an invited external reviewer for the "Connecting to the Archive: Counter-gentrification Tactics in Central Brooklyn" studio at the Pratt Institute School of Architecture.

Tuesday, April 20, 2021

Join us as Track Director Tessa Farmer sits down with GSMS alum Mel Throckmorton to learn about how the GSMS major has shaped their career post-graduation. 

Friday, April 16, 2021

Join Track Director David Edmunds in a conversation with GDS alum Edel Tessema. Learn more about Edel's position at Chemonics International and how the GDS program has shaped her career. 

Thursday, April 15, 2021

Global Studies Professor Phoebe Crisman will present her research on equitable and sustainable design during this event focused on how design engages with water from the building to watershed.

Wednesday, April 14, 2021

Join The College of William & Mary and The University of Virginia in a conversation about our joint carbon neutrality goals. Open to students of all majors and backgrounds. 

Wednesday, April 14, 2021

Join us for an in-person screening of "Bamako" followed by a panel discussion hosted by GS faculty. 

Friday, April 9, 2021

Global Studies faculty Helena Zeweri to speak at this Friday's Teach-In on Anti-Asian Violence. 

Monday, April 5, 2021

As featured in the Cavalier Daily: Global Studies the top major among students offered a Lawn room (5 out of 47)

Monday, April 5, 2021

GCCS is pleased to announce that its first graduate is Mary Lihong Peng

Tuesday, March 30, 2021

Congratulations to our Global Studies majors who received this high honor! 

Friday, March 5, 2021

Historical and Contemporary Stories of the Original Storytellers of the Lake Traverse Reservation
An interview project of Nis'to Incorporated and UVA

Tuesday, February 23, 2021

The Global Affairs office has just released its February newsletter which includes spotlights on the Global Mentors program, updates on Student International Travel, and much more!

Wednesday, February 10, 2021

Read GDS Faculty Gabrielle Kruks-Wisner's article "Great Expectations, Great Grievances: The Politics of Citizen Complaints in India" soon to be published in Comparative Politics (Oct. 2021)

Monday, February 8, 2021

As featured on UVAToday: Phoebe Crisman, Professor of Architecture and Director of Global Studies, challenges Amazon's plans.

Wednesday, February 3, 2021

Global Studies faculty Helena Zeweri has two new course offerings for Spring 2021. Now open for enrollment! 

 

Tuesday, February 2, 2021
Thursday, December 17, 2020

Read GDS Faculty Gabrielle Kruks-Wisner's co-authored article "The Geography of Citizenship Practice: How the Poor Engage the State in Rural and Urban India" as published in Perspectives on Politics, Volume 18, Issue 4. 

Tuesday, December 1, 2020

The University of Virginia is proud to announce the adoption of a new Sustainability Plan with ten bold goals that will guide our progress for the decade ahead.

Thursday, September 10, 2020

As featured on UVAToday: GPH Alum, Paco Abiad (Class of 2019) is one of the hosts of "This is Viral", a podcast inspired by GPH faculty Kathryn Quissel. 

Wednesday, September 9, 2020

As featured on UVAToday: Global Studies alums Ben Buell (GSSJ) and Rachel Davies (GDS) are advising local high school students through the Virginia College Advising Corps.

Wednesday, July 15, 2020

As featured on UVAToday: Global Studies students Jocelyn Willoughby (GDS) and Zoe Morse (GPH) were nominated by UVA's Department of Athletics for the 2020 NCAA Woman of the Year Award. 

Wednesday, June 24, 2020

As featured on UVAToday: GSVS student, Ester Rekhelman, uses her passion for art and painting to support local businesses in Charlottesville. 

Friday, June 12, 2020

As featured on UVAToday: Recent Global Public Health grad, Jeannie Taylor, seized the opportunity to start UVA's chapter of the COVID-19 Student Service Corps. 

Tuesday, May 5, 2020

As featured on UVAToday: Global Studies faculty, David Edmunds, Laura Goldblatt, and Rupa Valdez receive award for Excellence in Public Service: Collaborative. 

Monday, March 2, 2020

Read the full article as published in the Journal of Sustainability Education. Written by Tessa Farmer, Track Director, and GSMS students Mel Throckmorton & Fazlah Rahaman.